Lawrence County Educational Service Center

BAC Board Members and Terms

The Lawrence County Business Advisory Council

To help build relationships between local businesses and schools, Ohio law now requires every school district and educational service center (ESC) to have a Business Advisory Council. Recently, the Ohio General Assembly enacted Ohio Revised Code (ORC) section 3313.821 (as part of Am. Sub H.B. 49) which directs the superintendent of public instruction, in consultation with the governor’s executive workforce board, to develop standards for the operation of business advisory councils established by the boards of education of school districts or the governing boards of our ESC’s throughout the state.

The purpose of the BAC is to foster cooperation among schools, businesses, and the communities they serve. This work ensures that the work of educators aligns with the needs of local businesses through work-based experiences and helps students prepare for successful learning and local employment opportunities. Business advisory councils include business leaders along with our school leaders who are familiar with our community needs. Through this relationship, member partners plan and carry out the council’s work.

Beginning this school year, in cooperation with our county superintendents, the Lawrence County Educational Service Center has formed the Lawrence County Business Advisory Council. Our Council includes eleven local businesses from around our county who have agreed to be a part of our BAC for an either one, two, or three year term. These business representatives are:

Bret Guy-Guy’s Floor Covering and Frisch’s Big Boy (3 Year Term)

Brian Pancake-Hecla Water (2 Year Term)

Dani Owens-Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital (3 Year Term)

DR Gossett-Lawrence County CAO (2 Year Term)

Dr. Mike Dyer-Proctorville Animal Clinic (1 Year Term)

Joe Jenkins-Briggs Library (1 Year Term)

Mark Gleichauf-Ohio Department of Transportation (2 Year Term)

Nathan Hieronimus-C.J. Hughs Construction (2 Year Term)

Nona Calihan-Vertiv Corp. (1 Year Term)

Sarah Burroway-Ohio University-Southern (3 Year Term)

Terry Porter-Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (3 Year Term)

*Please join us in thanking these local business leaders for their commitment to education in Lawrence County!