Lawrence County Educational Service Center

2017-2018 Ironmaster Tournament


Ironton High School
Winners of the 2018 Ironmaster High School Quiz Bowl Tournament


South Point High School Runners-Up in the 2018 Ironmaster High School Quiz Bowl Tournament
Recipients of the 2017-2018 Outstanding Player Award



Chesapeake High School
2017-2018 Regular Season Winners











Every year, the Lawrence County ESC sponsors the Lawrence County High School Quiz Bowl League.  Our county league is called the Ohio Valley Academic Conference (OVAC). Participating schools in the OVAC are Chesapeake High School, Dawson-Bryant High School, Fairland High School, Ironton High School, Rock Hill High School, South Point High School, St. Joseph Central Catholic High School, and Symmes Valley High School.

Regular season for these teams begins in December and runs through the end of February to early March.   At the conclusion of the season, we here at the ESC give a “Regular Season Winner” award.  This award is given to the school with the best overall record in the regular season.

This year our regular season winner was Chesapeake High School with a record of six wins and only one loss.  The Chesapeake team is coached by Mrs. Gina Allen.  Mrs. Allen teaches Spanish at Chesapeake High School.  The Chesapeake team was awarded a plaque for being the “Regular Season Winner” and Mrs. Allen was also awarded a plaque for being an “Outstanding Coach” this year.

At the conclusion of the regular season, we also have a tournament sponsored by Ohio University-Southern and our very own Lawrence County Educational Service Center.  Our tournament is called the Ironmaster.    The Ironmaster was held on Tuesday, March 13, 2018 on the Ohio University-Southern campus.  The Ironton High School Quiz Bowl Team was the winner of our 2018 Ironmaster Tournament this year.  The Ironton team is coached by Mrs. Mary Frances Gunderson.  Mrs. Gunderson teaches American Government and Modern World History at Ironton High School.  The winner of the Ironmaster (Ironton High School) along with our regular season winner (Chesapeake High School) advances on to the regional competition at Ohio University-Lancaster on April 21, 2018.


2018 Ironmaster Winners

1st Place-Ironton High School

2nd Place-South Point High School


As part of our Lawrence County (OVAC) league, our quiz bowl coaches were asked to choose an outstanding player from their home team.  These students would have been the high scorer for their team during the regular season along with showing exceptional team leadership skills.   These outstanding students are our OVAC All Conference Players/Outstanding Player Award Recipients.  Each of these outstanding players were awarded a plaque presented by the ESC.


**Please see the list below for all of our players, coaches, and outstanding player award recipients who did and exceptional job in our Ohio Valley Academic Conference league this year:


Ohio Valley Academic Conference (OVAC) 

17-18 Lawrence County High School Quiz Bowl


Chesapeake High School

 (Regular Season Winner-finished with a 6-1 record with 312 total points scored in the season)

 *Coach Gina Allen (Recipient of the “Outstanding Coach” award for the 17-18 season)

 Team Members:

*Evan Goodall-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Taylor Burnette

Devon Forbush

Hope Jones

Cameron King

Andrew Miller

Garrett Thacker

Liam Thacker

Adam Eshem

Trevor Farris

Emily Johnson

Elijah Miller

Cecil Murray

Dylan Pantalena

Brannan Smith

Elijah Snyder

Jackson Stephens

Maddie Watts

Madison Yeoman


South Point High School-Coach Joan Hall

Rachel Decker-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Taylor Mazzone

Nick Wood

E. J. Daniels

Bella Arthur

Lexi Bentley

Annika Bruce

Samantha Caskey

Kama Delawder

Brittany Dotson

Megan Epperly

Lucy Gannon

Zoe Laslo

Abbi Lively

Karissa Patrick

Shelby Powell

Isabella Raines

Grace Simpson

Mackayla Wilson


Ironton High School-Coach Mary Frances Gunderson

Hunter Humphreys-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

John Higgins

Albert Schoener

Drew Bartram

Lorelei Griffith

Alaina Gleichauf

Macy Perry

Tanner Bowles

Georgia Slagel

Mary Beth Burton

Kaylie Rase

Jordyn Koerper

Kylie Hopper

Daly King



Rock Hill High School-Coach Tamela Reed

Gavin Jenkins-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Chase Nelson

Austin Ross

Laurie Littlejohn

Cameron Donahue

Luke Malone

Adam Fleeman

Jacob Gnau

Caleb Dillon

Malachi Clifton

Jasmine Lander

Eli Baker

Regan Massie

Daniel Mootz

Nathan Wroblewski



Fairland High School-Coach Brennan Hall

Gunnar McClung-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Brennen Criswell

Scotty Ferrell

Matt Mondlack

Marikate Polcyn

Jackie Shaw

Ty Staten

Katrina Abbott

Sammy Atai

Abbe Kiritsy

Colin McKinley

Jacob Polcyn

Kaleigh Rummell

Emily Sharp

Addi Speed

Taylor Webb

Alice Zhang

Anthony Zhu

Adrianna Clagg

Max Ward




Dawson-Bryant High School-Coach Karen Whitley

Isaac Dickess-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Nathan Davis

Dookie Blair

Trevor Deere

Alexis Bundy

Braeden Langley

Eli Cordle

Jeb Jones

Jay-Leigh Crabtree

Alex Windhorst

Maddy Watson

Luke Ferguson

Ryan Vasvary

Courtlyn Lewis

Austin Staton

Brandi Johnson

Colton Kuhn

Lily Fraley




Symmes Valley High School-Coach Karen Ingles

Derik Brace-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Hunter Adams

John Donahoe

Austin Mannon

Bryce Whitehead

Garrett Roberts

Ian McCleese

Ethan Stapleton

Grace Jenkins

Derik Brace

Tanner Sites

Thaxton Salyers




St. Joseph High School-Coach Carolyn Enders

Dmitri Ward-Outstanding Player Award Recipient

Clay Willis

Isabella Griffiths

Jackson Rowe

Jared Johnson

Aaron Collins

Camryn Zornes

Chase Walters

Ryan Scaife

Josh Kline

Bryce Balestra

Izsak Unger

Bryson Canter

Trae Crabtree


*The next level of competition is the OAC Southeastern Regional Competition

* Chesapeake automatically gets a bid to the Southeastern Regional Tournament in Lancaster, Ohio due to the fact that they are the regular season winners in a league with at least six team.  Our Lawrence Co. league (OVAC) has eight teams from around our county.

 *Ironton, the winner of the Ironmaster Tournament, is also eligible to compete in the Southeastern Regional Tournament in Lancaster.