2017-2018 Lawrence County Spelling Bee


Lawrence County Spelling Bee


The 2017-2018 Lawrence County Spelling Bee was held at the Ironton Municipal Courtroom on the morning of December 6, 2017.  Sixteen students (2 from each district in Lawrence County) participated.  The 2017-2018 participating spellers were as follows:

John Tyler (8th) and Annie Jenkins (5th)-(Chesapeake)


Seth Hamm (4th) and Olivia Kingrey (6th)-(Dawson-Bryant)


Emily Ferguson (4th) and Abigail Hazinski (8th)-(Fairland)


Danielle Leonard (6th) and Abbey Taylor (8th)-(Ironton)


Gavin Simpson (4th) and Sawyer Blackburn (4th)-(Ironton Catholic)


Kaley Fetty (8th) and Allison Ferrell (8th)-(Rock Hill)


Kimrie Staley (7th) and Zoe Kinder (5th)-(South Point)


Briar Call (6th) and Grace Stallo (5th)-(Symmes Valley)


**The Lawrence County Spelling Bee Champion this year was Emily Ferguson.  Emily is a 4th grader at Fairland West Elementary. 

**Our Lawrence County Spelling Bee Runner-Up was John Tyler.  John is an 8th grader at Chesapeake Middle School. 


*School Bee winners are eligible to take an on-line, 50 question Scripps Spelling Bee Test to determine advancement in further competition.  From this online test, 55 students from the Southeastern Region of Ohio will be chosen to participate in the 2018 Scripps College of Communication Regional Spelling Bee on March 24, 2018.

*The Lawrence County Educational Service Center is the sponsor of the Lawrence County Spelling Bee and Julie Walters, Student Services Coordinator, is the Spelling Bee Coordinator.


Posted in Uncategorized